Prep for Stitches

Crochet and birthday update…

I am so excited to be going to this year’s Stitches Midwest in Chicago, Illinois! I have never been to a crafting conference/convention before and I’m really pumped. I’m planning on taking four classes and hope to finally get some instructions in knitting. I’ve tried to learn how to in the past, but it’s never stuck with me so far.

In preparation for the upcoming awesome-fest, I am learning the basics of Tunisian crochet and purchasing yarns to use during the classes. Josh suggested that my birthday gift from him would be ten skeins from Michael’s! Now, I know there are a lot of yarnies who patronise LYS and specialty dyed/spun yarns that are amazing to work with. I would love to be able to use those supplies, but I simply haven’t got the funds to do that just yet. Perhaps with a raise that would be possible, but renting by oneself can get expensive. Anyways, I talked him into getting me some other cool odds and ends and perhaps a little more than ten skeins.  It helped that I had a 30% off all non-sale items coupon.

image

My birthday haul, 2015

I’ve got a great plan for the metallic yarns, my mom and dad are going to a Steampunk conference in April next year and I am helping with the costumes, so the metallics will be put to good use. The yarns in the left of the picture, I’m taking to Stitches with me for the classes.

Happy hooking,
Kate — GrafficDesigns

Leave a Reply

