Origins 2016 – Convention

I’ve told you before that I’m a huge nerd, right? Well, this post is going to solidify that fact a little more. Last weekend, the DBF (Darling Boyfriend) and I went to the 2016 Origins Gaming Convention in Columbus, OH and had a super time. I have gone to the convention two times in the past, and it did not disappoint this year. I am a huge fan of non-standard board games, pretty dice, and cool artisan items–so this convention is like heaven. The only place that I’ve had my eyes wider in amazement was at a yarn convention!

This year, I was determined to show off my crochet skills and gain huge nerd-points by crocheting up special hats for Josh and I. We got stopped by so many people, I kid you not! I actually ran out of business cards that I had with me to hand out (note to self, get more).

wp-1466711753651.jpg
Mr. Cyberman and Ms. Dalek

I had so much fun talking with people and sharing crochet stories. Our hats were a bit hot, especially Josh’s since his covers his ears too! Luckily we found a vendor who was handing out freebie sweatbands when we went to look at their new board-game, and the sweatbands under the hats were a life-saver.

wp-1466711915190.jpg
Playing Concordia, a pretty awesome game!

We met up with my brother, sister-in-law and her nephew and played board-games throughout the evening. Since they were planning to wear the gifts I gave them for Christmas, I decided to whip up a quick Brain Slug to put on his head so he wasn’t left out of the crochet-hat yarny goodness. We were a sight to see walking through the exhibit halls!

wp-1466711850733.jpg
BrainSlug pre-dinner

With all the excitement of the weekend and looking at the other vendor booths in the halls, I feel like it is time for me to spread my wings a little bit and go out on a limb. My goal for the next year is to work up to buying a booth and selling my items at a convention! I am super excited about this prospect and I am working on building up inventory. My main items will be fancy crochet’d Dice bags with nerdy intentions. I’ve even set up an Etsy store online and will be doing commissions based through that channel–so no more trying to wing it via email only. It’s going to be a slow start to slowly put my items up on the store, so keep checking back!

wp-1466712188745.jpg

Here’s to a fantastic rest of 2016 and, hopefully, the start of something beautiful.

Cheers,

Kate

Leave a Reply

